School Board Recognition Month

fbcoverGovernor Mike DeWine has recognized January 2020 as School Board Recognition Month.

ASHTABULA – The Ashtabula Area City School District will join more than 700 school districts throughout Ohio to celebrate January as School Board Recognition Month.

“Our school board members are citizen-servants who shoulder many responsibilities and are faced with making difficult choices for our district,” Superintendent Dr. Mark Potts said. “Their focus is always on keeping the main thing the main thing which the success of the children in our district. Celebrating School Board Recognition Month is a small way to say thank you for all they do.”
Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools. The Ashtabula Area City School’s board is responsible for more than 3600 students, 600 employees and (7) seven schools.
Too often, we neglect to recognize the dedication and hard work of these men and women who represent us. We ask you to take a moment to tell a school board member “thanks for caring about our children’s education.”
So, thank you to the dedicated men and women who make it possible for local citizens to have a say about education in our communities. We salute the public servants of Ashtabula Area City School’s whose dedication and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in our community possible. We applaud them for their vision and voice to help shape a better tomorrow.
The Ashtabula Area City Schools have been taken off Watch Status by the Ohio Department of Education due to significant academic progress in the areas of Students with Disabilities, English Learners, Gifted, and Economically Disadvantaged students. AACS joins Geneva, Grand Valley, and Pymatuning Valley as the only districts in Ashtabula County not on Watch Status in any category.

In order to be eligible for Watch Status, a district must educate at least 25 students that are identified as English Learners, Students with Disabilities, Economically Disadvantaged and at least 10 students that are identified as Gifted.

Ashtabula joins Geneva as the only county districts to be off Watch Status that were eligible in all four student-groups. In Region 5 of the state, that includes Ashtabula, Trumbull, Mahoning, and Columbiana counties, Ashtabula Area City Schools, Geneva Area City Schools, Austintown Local Schools, and Boardman Local Schools were the only districts off Watch Status in all categories.

A Special Thank You to the
AACS 2020 School Board Members
Dr. Debra Barrickman - President
Ms. Christine Seuffert - Vice President
Mr. Timothy Fleming - Member
Mr. William Niemi - Member
Mr. Donald Rapose - Member
TOGETHER - Preparing EVERY Student for Future Success


Attached Files